Helpful error messages

I thought I would start a page (which I expect to update) that records the error messages that have taken me the longest time to figure out and what they turned out to mean.  Obviously if someone else gets the same message it may be for a different reason, but knowledge is never a bad thing.  Anyway, this is mostly for my own benefit as my memory seems to have taken its leave of me sometime in the last decade.

Running a cucumber scenario that depended on javascript I saw the following output:

NoMethodError: undefined method `node_name' for nil:NilClass
./features/step_definitions/web_steps.rb:53:in `/^(?:|I )press "([^"]*)"$/'

Which as any fule no means “You have forgotten the @javascript tag”

The really scary looking

NativeException: org.apache.http.NoHttpResponseException: The target server failed to respond
(druby://127.0.0.1:40607) org/jruby/RubyKernel.java:2071:in `send'
(druby://127.0.0.1:40607) org/jruby/RubyKernel.java:1419:in `loop'
(druby://127.0.0.1:40607) org/jruby/RubyProc.java:268:in `call'
(druby://127.0.0.1:40607) org/jruby/RubyProc.java:232:in `call'
./features/step_definitions/web_steps.rb:53:in `/^(?:|I )press "([^"]*)"$/'

while running a test turns out to mean “When you press that button you get an exception, but I thought I would confuse you with this instead”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

